Second Home

Being rejected by the company of your choice is one of the worst feelings in life.

If I were my old self today, I would give up and lose hope and confidence in myself. But I’m not that girl anymore. I pushed myself to find other companies.

One company said that I lack experience, the other that I applied for the cameraman position said that they don’t have a “female” cameraman. Hah! Talk about gender inequality.

And like what they say, if it’s not meant to be, it’s not meant to be. I just thought, maybe these companies ain’t good enough to make me a better media practitioner. Maybe they aren’t the right company for me because God knows I deserve better.

I kept looking. And looking. And looking. And I waited for three months.

Then one day, a friend of mine told me there’s a job opening in a real estate company in our city, so I immediately passed my resume to the said company.

I’ve had like 3 types of exam. Abstract, Grammar and Numerical and one essay type. There was 5 of us there, and after taking the exam, we were interviewed by the HR one by one. I was the last one. It went well I think. And she told me that the Marketing OIC will interview also, after I take my lunch break. When I got back, I didn’t expect that it will be a long interview. But I’m pretty confident it went well.

I waited for like 2 weeks for them to call me. And the HR contacted me that I will have an interview with the Marketing Head. I was nervous. It’s the boss. And there were four of us that he interviewed. So when it’s my turn to be interviewed, I wore the brightest smile I could have and the energy and jolliness.

After two days, I received a text from the HR that the Marketing Head wants to talk to me, and offered me the job I wanted and a salary that’s above minimum. I wasn’t expecting that the salary he offered would be that high. So I was very happy and went back home excitedly to tell everyone the good news.

Now I finally found the company that’s right for me. The company who accepted me and gave me a chance to prove myself. The company who believes in me and every little thing I can do. The company who saw my potential and ability.

And this company will be my second home for the next few years.

So just some piece of advice…

If you’ll just keep looking and stay patient, the right one will come for you at the right time, and right place.
You just have to wait. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Second Home

Leave a Reply

